Commedia dell’Arte



A 16th-17th c. style of Italian street theatre emphasizing stock characters, physical stunts, and improvised text.

Upload your Media



Members specializing in Commedia dell’Arte:

Anne James

anjames@exchange.fullerton.edu

Richard Buchanan

arichfellow@gmail.com

Brian LeTraunik

brian.letraunik@gmail.comwww.brianletraunik.weebly.com

Bradford Oxnam

bradoxnam@yahoo.comwww.bradoxnam.com

CarlosAlexis Cruz

carloscruz@uncc.eduwww.pelutheatre.com

Chaya Gordon-Bland

Chaya.Gordon-Bland@usd.eduwww.usd.edu/fine-arts/theatre/chaya-gordon-bland.cfm
www.sdshakespearefestival.org

Colum Morgan

cpmorgan1@gmail.com

Chelsea Pace

chelsea.pace@ndsu.eduwww.chelseapace.com

Cynthia Kneen

cynthiakneen@gmail.comwww.cynthiakneen.com

Joan Schirle

info@dellarte.comwww.dellarte.com

Denise Rinehart

deniserinehart@gmail.comwww.theatreamoeba.org
https://www.facebook.com/CJUTheatre

David Gaines

david_gaines@hotmail.comwww.davidgainesperformance.com
www.7x1samurai.com

Dana Legawiec

dlegawiec@comcast.netwww.ZigguratTheatre.org

David Reed

davidandreed@yahoo.comdavidreed-director.com

Drew Richardson

drew@dramaticfool.comhttp://www.DramaticFool.com
http://www.ThinkFoolishly.com

Davis Robinson

drobinso@bowdoin.eduwww.beaujest.com
www.bowdoin.edu

David Taft

dtaft@cornish.edudavidtaft.com

Eric Kildow

eskildow@gmail.comhttp://www.eskildow.com

Christopher Beaulieu

creativelyindie@gmail.comhttp://creativelyindependent.net

Margo Kopec

margo@goinspired.comwww.goinspired.com

Genesee Spridco

geneseespridco@gmail.comWww.imaginezensemblez.com

Greg Webster

gregory.webster@uconn.edu

Jason Bohon

jasonbohon@gmail.comwww.jasonbohon.com
www.splitknuckletheatre.org

Jeffrey Awada

jeffreyawada43@webster.edu

Jonathan Becker

jkbecker@bsu.eduwww.Theater-Masks.com

Jill Carlson

carlsonj@ecu.edu

Judith Chaffee

judith@commedia-dell-arte.comcommedia-dell-arte.com
judithchaffee.com

Jeff Fazakerley

jeff.fazakerley@cui.edu23 Meadowgrass

Jeffrey Lambdin

woole@mindspring.comwww.jefthemime.com
tomjefmime.com

Joe Herrera

veejoe7@yahoo.comwww.michaelchekhovstudioorlando.com

Joan Schirle

joans@dellarte.comwww.dellarte.com

Jeff MIlls

jmproboscis@gmail.comwww.jmproboscis.com

Kate Meehan

katesmash@gmail.comwww.lafeniceaustin.org

Kali Quinn

kali_quinn@yahoo.comhttp://www.kaliquinn.com
http://www.dell-arte.org

Laura Rikard

laurarikard@mac.comwww.laurarikard.com
www.laurarikardandassociates.com

Justine Moore-Luparello

justineluparello@gmail.comhttp://www.justinemoore.com/

Emily Davis

emily@messengertheatreco.orgfeldenkraisarts.com
messengertheatreco.org

micaela miranda

micaela@thefreedomtheatre.orgwww.thefreedomtheatre.org
www.creationunderoccupation.blogspot.com

Jessie Mills

millsj@wabash.edu109 S. Washington Street

Malcolm Tulip

dmtulip@umich.edu

Matthew R. Wilson

WilsonMatthewR@gmail.commatthewrwilson.com
factionoffools.org

Parke Fech

parkeafech@gmail.com5500 Wissahickon Ave

Katie Jones

kathryn.ann.jones@gmail.com4440 Laguna Place

C. Robin Marcotte

robinmarcotte@gmail.comwww.robinmarcotte.net

Rich Rand

richrand@purdue.eduwww.richrand.com

Rachael Swartz

rswartz08@gmail.comwww.rachaelswartz.com
https://www.ashland.edu/cas/faculty-staff/rachael-swartz

Sears Eldredge

eldredge@macalester.edu

Sandi Carroll

slc58@psu.edu

Stephanie Roberts

sraerob@yahoo.comhttp://stephanieraeroberts.com

Sara Romersberger

sromer@mail.smu.eduhttp://www.smu.edu/Meadows/AreasOfStudy/Theatre/Faculty/RomersbergerSara

Robyn Berg

professorrobynberg@gmail.comrobynberg.com

Tamala Bakkensen

tamalabakkensen@gmail.com

T. Anthony Marotta

NakedMasks@TAnthonyMarotta.comwww.tanthonymarotta.com

Terry Glaser

terry4thalia@pacbell.net

Zane Whitney

theatre.generalist10@gmail.comwww.tcftt.org
www.facebook.com/ZaneAWhitneyJr

Yarit Dor

yaritdor16@gmail.comwww.yarit-dor.com

Yo-El Cassell

ycassell@bu.edu

Email all members who specialize in Commedia dell’Arte


Bibliography for Commedia dell’Arte

Print Sources
  • Bacon, R. W. The Juggler’s Manual of Manipulative Miscellanea. Newburyport, MA: Variety Arts Press, n.d.
  • Barner, Pat and July Vermillion-Witt. The Center Ring. Norfolk, VA: Hampton Roads Publishing Co., Inc., 1992. 1-878901-31-1
  • Burgess, Hovey. Circus Techniques: Juggling, Equilibristics, Vaulting. New York: Drama Book Specialists, 1977.
  • ________. “Circus and the Actor,” The Drama Review, Vol. 16, no. 1, 1972: 36-46. Well-known teacher of circus arts discusses teaching circus skills to actors.
  • Carlo. The Juggling Book. New York: Random House, 1974.
  • Cassidy, John and B. C. Rimbeaux. Juggling for the Complete Klutz. Palo Alto, CA: Klutz Press, 1988. 0-932592-00-7
  • Disher, M. W. Clown and Pantomimes. New York: Benjamin Blom 1968.
  • Fife, Bruce et al. Creative Clowning. Colorado Springs, CO: Java Publishing Company, 1988. 0-941599-03-5
  • Kelly, E. Clown. New York: Prentice Hall, 1954.
  • Kerr, W. The Silent Clowns. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1975.
  • Liebmann, Adrienne. Women’s Circus: Leaping off the Edge. LPC InBook, 1997. ISBN 1875559558 Established in 1991 as a community theatre project to work with survivors of sexual assault, the Women’s Circus toured Beijing in 1995. Jugglers, acrobats, tricksters, aerialists, technicians, administrators, musicians, designers and trainers tell their story.
  • McKechnie, Samuel. Popular Entertainment Through the Ages. New York: Blom, 1969.
  • McVicar, Wes. Clown Act Omnibus. Colorado Springs, CO: Meriwether Publishing, 1960. 0-916260-41-0 200 workable clown acts for all levels.
  • Perkins, Catherine and Rob Shone (Illustrator). The Most Excellent Book of how to be a Clown. Millbrook Press, 1997. ISBN 0761304991 Introductory book featuring step-by-step instructions on how to create clown personas, including traditional characters like the “auguste” or the “whiteface.”
  • Pipkin, T. Be a Clown! New York: Workman Publishing, 1989.
  • Remy, Tristan and Bernard Sahlins (Translator). Clown Scenes. Ivan R. Dee Publisher, 1997. ISBN 1566631440 Written by a French circus historian, this book presents 48 classic routines by clowns working in the old tradition of the one-ring circus. Includes spoken words, the manner of line delivery and the physical turns. Scenes are suitable for performance, and require three actors and no sets.
  • Robinson, Davis Rider. The Physical Comedy Handbook. NH: Heinemann, 1999. ISBN 0325001146 Preparation, solos, duets, trios, group exercises, skills (e.g. the trip, the take, difficulty with objects, interruptions).
  • Schechter, Joel. Durov’s Pig. New York: Theatre Communications Group, 1985. Clowns, politics, theatre.
  • Stolzenberg, Mark. Clowns for Circus and Stage. New York: Sterling Publishers, n.d. Simple techniques simply presented. Good for kids.
  • Toole-Stott, Raymond. Circus and the Allied Arts: A World Bibliography. 4 Vols. Derby, UK: Harper & Sons, 1958 and 1971.
  • Towsen, John. Clowns. New York: Hawthorne, 1976.
  • Wiley, Jack. Basic Circus Skills. Harrisburg, PA: Stackpole Books, 1974.
  • Wilmeth, Don B. The Language of American Popular Entertainment, n.c.: n.p., 1981. Argot and slang of circus, vaudeville, burlesque, etc.
Back to Top