Improvisation/Theatre Games



Extemporaneous theatre making through games and explorations.

Upload your Media



Members specializing in Improvisation/Theatre Games:

Aaron Black

aaronblack1@gmail.com

Amanda MacDonald

abmacd53@gmail.com1931 N Campbell Ave #2S
www.AmandaBlairMacDonald.com

Anne Brady

abrady@binghamton.edu

Andrea Grapko

andygrapko@yahoo.com

alexis black

alexisblack@me.comwww.alexisblack.net

Anne James

anjames@exchange.fullerton.edu

Beth Johnson

yoga.cndga@gmail.com

Brian LeTraunik

brian.letraunik@gmail.comwww.brianletraunik.weebly.com

Conrad Alexandrowicz

conrada@uvic.cawww.wildexcursions.ca

Careena Melia

careenamelia@gmail.comcareenamelia.com

CarlosAlexis Cruz

carloscruz@uncc.eduwww.pelutheatre.com

Cat Gleason

catzg65@gmail.com

Catherine Madden

cathmadden@aol.comhttp://www.cathymadden.net/

Eli Sibley

eli.sibley@yahoo.comelisibley.com

Colum Morgan

cpmorgan1@gmail.com

Cynthia Kneen

cynthiakneen@gmail.comwww.cynthiakneen.com

Joan Schirle

info@dellarte.comwww.dellarte.com

Denise Rinehart

deniserinehart@gmail.comwww.theatreamoeba.org
https://www.facebook.com/CJUTheatre

Lee Ordeman

leeordeman@gmail.com

Drew Richardson

drew@dramaticfool.comhttp://www.DramaticFool.com
http://www.ThinkFoolishly.com

Davis Robinson

drobinso@bowdoin.eduwww.beaujest.com
www.bowdoin.edu

David Taft

dtaft@cornish.edudavidtaft.com

Daniella Vinitski

daniella.vinitski@colorado.eduhttp://daniellavinitski.com/

Erin Schlabach

erinschlabach@gmail.com

Eric Kildow

eskildow@gmail.comhttp://www.eskildow.com

Eileen Standley

eileen.standley@asu.edueileenstandley.com
eileenstandley2.com

Eric van Baars

evanbaars@gmail.comwww.ericvanbaars.com

Christopher Beaulieu

creativelyindie@gmail.comhttp://creativelyindependent.net

Geneviève Nedder

gmnedder@comcast.nethttp://www.bodyfundamentals.com
http://www.changingthroughmovement.com

Genesee Spridco

geneseespridco@gmail.comWww.imaginezensemblez.com

Holly Cate

hcate@muhlenberg.edu

Heather Harpham

hharpham@me.comwww.heatherharpham.com

Laura Hoske

laura.hoske@gmail.com301 N Johnson St

Jeff A.R. Jones

jarjones@nc.rr.com

Jill Carlson

carlsonj@ecu.edu

Jeff Casazza

casazzaj@ipfw.edu

Judith Chaffee

judith@commedia-dell-arte.comcommedia-dell-arte.com
judithchaffee.com

Jennifer Graham

jgraham@emich.edu

Jeffrey Lambdin

woole@mindspring.comwww.jefthemime.com
tomjefmime.com

Jeff McMahon

jeffmcm@earthlink.netwww.jeffmcmahonprojects.net
http://vimeo.com/jeffmcmahon

Joyce Lu

joyce@joycelu.comwww.joycelu.com

Jess Prichard

jessprichard@gmail.comwww.jessprichard.com

Jeff MIlls

jmproboscis@gmail.comwww.jmproboscis.com

Kristin Katsu

krkatsu@gmail.comhttp://www.krkatsu.wordpress.com

Kari Margolis

Margolismethod@mac.comwww.margolismethod.org
www.mb-adaptors.org

Kate Meehan

katesmash@gmail.comwww.lafeniceaustin.org

Kali Quinn

kali_quinn@yahoo.comhttp://www.kaliquinn.com
http://www.dell-arte.org

Luke Eddy

luke.eddy7@gmail.com

Les Rorick

jlr4pc@virginia.edu

Lisa Bohn

lisabohn@mac.com

Liz Stanton

lizbethnyc@gmail.comwww.lizstanton.com
givingvoiceproductions.com

Justine Moore-Luparello

justineluparello@gmail.comhttp://www.justinemoore.com/

Mairin Smit

mairin.smit@gmail.comwww.fivewinds.ca

Mandy Greenlee

mandy@mandygreenlee.com915 MAXWELL AVE

Margaret Boersma

mboersma@rogers.comwww.margaretboersma.com

Matt Franta

matt@mattfranta.comwww.MattFranta.com

Monica Dionysiou

dionysioum@gmail.commonicadionysiou.com

Emily Davis

emily@messengertheatreco.orgfeldenkraisarts.com
messengertheatreco.org

Mark Hardiman

mark@mhardiman.com

Jessie Mills

millsj@wabash.edu109 S. Washington Street

Melissa Noble

mlknoble@hotmail.com

Michael Mueller

mjmueller3@gmail.comwww.mjmueller3.com

Matthew R. Wilson

WilsonMatthewR@gmail.commatthewrwilson.com
factionoffools.org

Pam Johnson

johnson.pam1@gmail.com

Parke Fech

parkeafech@gmail.com5500 Wissahickon Ave

Pam Joyce

pamjoyce1999@gmail.com

Eliza Ladd

elizalasa@gmail.comwww.elizaladd.com

Katie Jones

kathryn.ann.jones@gmail.com4440 Laguna Place

Rebecca Frost Mayer

mayerrf@vcu.edu

C. Robin Marcotte

robinmarcotte@gmail.comwww.robinmarcotte.net

Rich Rand

richrand@purdue.eduwww.richrand.com

Rachael Swartz

rswartz08@gmail.comwww.rachaelswartz.com

Sandi Carroll

slc58@psu.edu

Slade Billew

billewbs@sfasu.edu

Joan Bruemmer-Holden

jbruemmer@naropa.edu

Stefan Sittig

stefan.sittig@gmail.comwww.stefansittig.com
www.umuc.edu

Robyn Berg

professorrobynberg@gmail.comrobynberg.com

Tamala Bakkensen

tamalabakkensen@gmail.com

T. Anthony Marotta

NakedMasks@TAnthonyMarotta.comwww.tanthonymarotta.com

Terry Glaser

terry4thalia@pacbell.net

Therese Crews

tcrews@clcillinois.edu

Tom Truss

tomjtruss@gmail.com

Jeremiah Black

wellingtonblack@hotmail.com35 Westfield Drive

Wesley Broulik

wesleybroulik@gmail.comwww.wesleybroulik.net

Yarit Dor

yaritdor16@gmail.comwww.yarit-dor.com

Yo-El Cassell

ycassell@bu.edu

Email all members who specialize in Improvisation/Theatre Games


Bibliography for Improvisation/Theatre Games

Print Sources
  • Alexander, Robert. Improvisational Theatre for the Classroom: A Curriculum Guide for Training Regular and Special Education Teachers in the Art of Improvisational Theatre, ed. by Wendy Haynes. Washington, D. C.: Living Stage Theatre Company, 1983.
  • Atkins, Greg. Improv! A Handbook for the Actor. Portsmouth, NJ: Heinemann, 2003. 0- 435-08627-8
  • Barker, Clive. Theatre Games: A New Approach to Drama Training. London: Methuen, 1977. 0-413-45380-4 Includes chapters on simple movement games, releasing physical inhibitions, space awareness, and meetings and encounters.
  • Belt, Linda. Improvisation Through Theatre Sports: A Curriculum to Teach Basic Acting Skills & Improvisation. Thespis Productions, 1995. ISBN 0962079952 New Edition.
  • Belt, Lynda and Rebecca Stockley. Improvisation Through Theatre Sports: A Curriculum to Improve Acting Skills. Seattle: Thespis Production, 1989. Exercises for trust, awareness, antomime, spontaneity, narrative, characterization, etc, with teaching plan.
  • Boal, Augusto. Games for Actors and Non-Actors. New York: Routledge, 1992. 0-415- 06155-5
  • Brandes, Donna and Howard Phillips. Gamester’s Handbook. London: Hutchison, n .d. 0-09-1364213 A good collection of workshop games.
  • Caruso, Sandra and susan Kosoff. the Young Actor's Book of Improvisation: Dramatic Situations from Shakespeare to Spielberg. 2 Vols. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann, 2003.
  • Clements, Paul. The Improvised Play. London: Methuen, n. d. 0-413-50440-9 Techniques to create scripted theatre.
  • Cossa, Mario. Acting Out: The Workbook: A Guide to the Development & Presentation of Issue-Oriented, Audience-Interactive, Improvisational Theatre. Accelerated Development, 1996. ISBN 1560325348
  • Custer, Jim. Little Book of Theatre Games. Nazarene Publishing House, 1998. ISBN 0834197731
  • Dezseran, Louis J. The Student Actor’s Handbook. Palo Alto, CA: Mayfield Publishing Co., 1975. Theatre games and exercises.
  • Fluegelman, Andrew, ed. The New Games Book. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1976. From the New Games Foundation.
  • Goldberg, Andy. Improv Comedy. Hollywood, CA: Samuel French, 1991. 0-573- 60608-0
  • Halpern, Charna and Del Close and Kim Johnson. Truth in Comedy: The Manual of Improvisation. n. c.: Meriwether Publishing, Ltd., 1994. Discusses show length improvisations centered around themes.
  • Hodgson, John and Ernest Richards. Improvisation. London: Methuen, 1966. Improv skills; also how to apply improv to scripted shows.
  • Hoetler, James. Theatre Games. Urbana, IL: ERIC, National Council of Teachers of English, 1975.
  • Howard. Improvisation and Mime. Theatre Communications Group, Incorporated, 1998. ISBN 1840020121
  • James, Ronald and Peter Williams. A Guide to Improvisation. n. c.: Kemble Press, n. d. 0-906836-05-4
  • Johnston, Chris. House of Games: Making Theatre from Everyday Life. NY: Routledge, 1998. ISBN 0878300899 Exercises and how to facilitate them.
  • Johnstone, Keith. Don’t Be Prepared. Calgary, AB: Loose Moose Theatre Company, n. d. 0-9698382-0-4
  • ________. Impro for Storytellers. NY: Routledge, 1999. ISBN 0878301054 Story games, character, spontaneity.
  • ________. Impro: Improvisation for the Theatre. New York: Theatre Arts Books, 1979. 0-413-46430-X Written by the founder of Theatre Sports, this book covers status, spontaneity, narrative skills, masks, and trance.
  • Kerrigan, Sheila. The Performer's Guide to the Collaborative Process. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann, 2001. 0-325-0031104 How to work happily with others to create original performance material.
  • Kozlowski, Rob. The Art of Chicago Improv: Shortcuts to Long-Form Improvisation. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann, 2003. 0-325-00384-X "Kozlowski . . . provides a guide to improv troupes seeking a style that's just right for them, wtih detailed descriptions of specific productions and discussions of the implications of pursuing certain improv techniques." (Heinemann blurb.) Also includes history of the development of improv in Chicago.
  • Marin, Rod. Improvisation: A Guide to Unlock Your Acting Power: A Workbook for Teachers. Encore Performance Publishing, 1996. ISBN 1575140144
  • Nachmanovitch, Stephen. Free Play: The Power of Improvisation in Life and the Arts. Los Angeles: Jeremy P. Tarcher, Inc., 1990.
  • Newton, Brad. Improvisation: Use What You Know – Make Up What You Don’t: Improvisational Activities for the Classroom. Gifted Psychology Press, Incorporated, 1999. ISBN 0910707316
  • O’Neill, Cecily. A Framework for Process Drama. Heinemann, 1995. ISBN 0435086715
  • Paxton, Steve. “Contact Improvisation,” The Drama Review. Vol. 19, no. 1, 1975: 40- 42.
  • SAK Comedy Theatre Lab. SAK Comedy Theatre Lab Playbook. Collection of games. Write SAK Productions, 45 E. Church, Orlando, FL, 32801 (407) 648-0001
  • Salas, Jo. Improvising Real Life: Personal Story in Playback Theatre. n. c.: Kendall/Hunt Publishing, 1993. Audience stories are played back by performers.
  • Schotz, Amiel. Theatre Games and Beyond: A Creative Approach for Performers. Meriwether Publishing, Limited, 1998. ISBN 1566080398
  • Spolin, Viola. Improvisation for the Theater: A Handbook of Teaching & Directing Techniques. Evanston: Northwestern University Press, 1999. ISBN 0810140098 New edition including a new appendix. Nominally a book on theatre for children, actually a useful text for all actor training.
  • Turgeon, Thomas S. Improvising Shakespeare. McGraw-Hill Companies, 1996. ISBN 007065527
  • Weinstein, Matt and Joel Goodman. Playfair: Everybody’s Guide to Noncompetitive Play. San Luis Obispo, CA: Impact Publishers, 1980. 0-915166-50-X
  • Wirth, Jeff. Interactive Acting: Acting, Improvisation, and Interacting for Audience Participatory Theatre. Fall Creek, OR: Fall Creek Press, 1994. 0-9632374-9-7 Describes the various styles of interactive performances with tips on how to encourage good audience participation. Also outlines basic improvisation skills.
  • Wright, Michael. Theatre Games for Playwrights: Working Through Craft. Heinemann, 1997. ISBN 0614273919
Back to Top