Laban/Bartenieff



A comprehensive system to observe and teach components of physical action and movement expression, based on the work of Rudolf Laban and Irmgard Bartenieff, clarifying dynamics of the body in space and time.

Upload your Media



Members specializing in Laban/Bartenieff:

Anna DeMers

annasycamore@gmail.comwww.AnnaDeMers.com

Annmarie Kelly Davis

annmariedavis@comcast.net

Richard Buchanan

arichfellow@gmail.com

Barbara Adrian

bavoicenyc@aol.com

Brian LeTraunik

brian.letraunik@gmail.comwww.brianletraunik.weebly.com

Conrad Alexandrowicz

conrada@uvic.cawww.wildexcursions.ca

Careena Melia

careenamelia@gmail.comcareenamelia.com

Eli Sibley

eli.sibley@yahoo.comelisibley.com

Colum Morgan

cpmorgan1@gmail.com

Chelsea Pace

chelsea.pace@ndsu.eduwww.chelseapace.com

Cara Rawlings

crawlings@vt.edu

Casey Sams

jsams1@utk.edu

Dana Legawiec

dlegawiec@comcast.netwww.ZigguratTheatre.org

Elizabeth Mozer

emozer@binghamton.edutheatreintheflesh.net
http://www2.binghamton.edu/theatre/faculty-and-staff/mozer.html

Frank Delaney

frank@franklyndelaney.comwww.franklyndelaney.com

Gene Gibbons

ggibbons@interlog.com

Genesee Spridco

geneseespridco@gmail.comWww.imaginezensemblez.com

Joann Browning

jbrownin@udel.edu

Jill Carlson

carlsonj@ecu.edu

Judith Chaffee

judith@commedia-dell-arte.comcommedia-dell-arte.com
judithchaffee.com

Jeff Fazakerley

jeff.fazakerley@cui.edu23 Meadowgrass

Jenn Calvano

jenncalvano@louisville.edujenncalvano.com

Jennifer Mizenko

jmizenko@olemiss.edujennifermizenko.com

Joe Herrera

veejoe7@yahoo.comwww.michaelchekhovstudioorlando.com

Janice Orlandi

j_orlandi@yahoo.comActorsMovementStudio.com

Jeff MIlls

jmproboscis@gmail.comwww.jmproboscis.com

Jonathan Cole

jcole@willamette.eduhttp://www.revengearts.com
http://www.wutheatre.com

Luke Eddy

luke.eddy7@gmail.com

Laura Rikard

laurarikard@mac.comwww.laurarikard.com
www.laurarikardandassociates.com

Justine Moore-Luparello

justineluparello@gmail.comhttp://www.justinemoore.com/

Lynnae Lehfeldt

Lehfeld2@oakland.edu

Marie Percy

marie.percy@uconn.eduvisualizingspaceharmony.com

Margaret Boersma

mboersma@rogers.comwww.margaretboersma.com

Melinda Little

m_little@rogers.com

Meredith Dufton

meredith.dufton@tiscali.co.uk

Mark Hardiman

mark@mhardiman.com

Michele Minnick

mm144@nyu.eduwww.rasaboxes.org

Michael Mueller

mjmueller3@gmail.comwww.mjmueller3.com

Matthew R. Wilson

WilsonMatthewR@gmail.commatthewrwilson.com
factionoffools.org

Nancy Kantra

nkantra@uarts.edu

Natasha Martina

Nkmartina@gmail.comhttps://www.facebook.com/GroundCoverTheatre?filter=2

Alison Henderson

chicagohenderson@comcast.netwww.recklessensembletheatre.org

Ryan Mahannah

Ryan.Mahannah@yahoo.com100 Foxgate Ave APT 36F

Rich Rand

richrand@purdue.eduwww.richrand.com

Rachelle Tsachor

rtsachor@uic.eduhttp://theatreandmusic.uic.edu/profiledetails/311/296

Stefan Sittig

stefan.sittig@gmail.comwww.stefansittig.com
www.umuc.edu

Robyn Berg

professorrobynberg@gmail.comrobynberg.com

Tamala Bakkensen

tamalabakkensen@gmail.com

T. Anthony Marotta

NakedMasks@TAnthonyMarotta.comwww.tanthonymarotta.com

Therese Crews

tcrews@clcillinois.edu

Ted Morin

ttmnyc@me.com

Tom Truss

tomjtruss@gmail.com

Yarit Dor

yaritdor16@gmail.comwww.yarit-dor.com

Yo-El Cassell

ycassell@bu.edu

Email all members who specialize in Laban/Bartenieff


Bibliography for Laban/Bartenieff

Print Sources
  • Bartenieff, Irmgard. Notes from a Course in Correctives. New York: Dance Notation Bureau, 1970. For self-teaching; for beginning and intermediate students.
  • ________ with Dori Lewis. Body Movement: Coping With the Environment. New York: Gordon & Breach Science Publishers, 1980. Basic principles of Labananalysis, exercises, psychology of movement.
  • Davis, Martha. Four Adaptions of Effort Theory, Research and Teaching. New York: Dance Notation Bureau Press, 1970.
  • Dell, Cecily. A Primer for Movement Description Using Effort-Shape and Supplementary Concepts. New York: Dance Notation Bureau Press, 1977.
  • Foster, John. The Influences of Rudolph Laban. London: Lepus Books, 1977.
  • Friedman, Risa. “Where Effort and the Body Sciences Meet,” Movement Studies, Spring 1986.
  • Hackney, Peggy. Making Connections: Total Body Integration through Bartenieff Fundamentals. G & B Science Pub., 1998. ISBN 9056995928 Introductory summary of Laban Movement Analysis and key terminology. Hecht, Patsy Ann Clark. “Kinetic Techniques for the Actor,” PhD Dissertation, Wayne State University, 1971.
  • Hodgson, John. Mastering Movement : Understanding Laban. Routledge, 2000. ISBN: 0878300805 Study of Laban’s movement theories and practice.
  • Hutchison, Ann. Labanotation. New York: Theatre Arts Books, 1970.
  • Kestenberg, Judith S. The Role of Movement Patterns in Development. New York: Dance Notation Bureau, 1967.
  • Laban, Rudolph. Effort. London: Macdonald & Evans, 1947.
  • ________. Language of Movement: A Guidebook to Choreutics, annotated and edited by Lisa Ullmann. Boston: Play, Inc., 1974.
  • ________. A Life for Dance: Reminiscences, trans. and annotated by Lisa Ullmann. New York: Theatre Arts Books, 1975.
  • ________. The Mastery of Movement on the Stage, 3rd ed., revised by Lisa Ullmann. Boston: Play, Inc., 1971.
  • ________. Modern Educational Dance. London: Macdonald and Evans, 1948.
  • Lamb, Warren and Elizabeth Watson. Body Code: The Meaning in Movement. Princeton, NJ: Princeton Book Co., 1985.
  • Lamb, Warren. Posture and Gesture: An Introduction to the Study of Physical Behavior. London: Duckworth &* Co., 1965.
  • Newlove, Jean. Laban for Actors and Dancers. New York: Routledge, 1993.
  • North, Marion. An Introduction to Movement Study and Teaching. London: Macdonald & Evans, 1971.
  • ________. Personality Assessment Through Movement. London: Macdonald & Evans, 1972.
  • Otte-Betz, Irma. “The Work of Rudolf von Laban,” Dance Observer, Part I(December 1938): 147; Part II(January 1939): 161-62; Part III(March 1939): 189-90.
  • Pierpont, Margaret. “A Conversation with Irmgard Bartenieff,” Dance Magazine, March 1980: 90-91.
  • Preston-Dunlop, Valerie Monthland. A Handbook for Modern Educational Dance. Boston: Plays, Inc., 1980.
  • Ramsden, Pamela. “The Action Profile System of Movement Assessment for Self Development,” in Helen Payne, ed., Dance Movement Therapy: Theory and Practice. New York: Routledge, 1992.
  • Redfern, Hildred Betty. Introducing Laban Art of Movement. London: Macdonald & Evans, 1965.
  • Thornton, Samuel. Laban’s Theory of Movement: A New Perspective. Boston: Plays, Inc., 1971.
  • Willson, F.M.G. In Just Order Move: The Progress of the Laban Centre for Movement and Dance, 1946-1996. Athlone Pr., 1997. ISBN 0485115182
Audio/Visual Sources
  • Hackney, Peggy. Discovering Your Expressive Body with Peggy Hackney. Pennington, NJ: Princeton Book Company, n. d. Video. Call 609-737-8177.
  • Moore, Carol-Lynne and Kaoru Yamamoto. Beyond Words: Movement Observation and Analysis. New York: Gordon and Breach, 1988. Book includes a set of videos.
Electronic Sources
  • http://www.cs.sfu.ca/cs/people/GradStudents/bishko/personal/lma_resources.htm Laban Movement Analysis Resources, a web page.
Back to Top