Movement for the Actor



Upload your Media



Members specializing in Movement for the Actor:

Adam Alexander

adamalexander212@gmail.com

Aaron Black

aaronblack1@gmail.com

Amanda MacDonald

abmacd53@gmail.com1931 N Campbell Ave #2S
www.AmandaBlairMacDonald.com

Anne Brady

abrady@binghamton.edu

Anna DeMers

annasycamore@gmail.comwww.AnnaDeMers.com

Andrea Grapko

andygrapko@yahoo.com

alexis black

alexisblack@me.comwww.alexisblack.net

Allison Caw

allisoncaw@gmail.com

Anne James

anjames@exchange.fullerton.edu

Annmarie Kelly Davis

annmariedavis@comcast.net

Adam Noble

nobledynamic@gmail.comhttp://www.uh.edu/class/theatre-and-dance/
http://www.uh.edu/class/theatre-and-dance/about/faculty/index.php

Richard Buchanan

arichfellow@gmail.com

Annette Thornton

thorn1a@cmich.edu

Barbara Adrian

bavoicenyc@aol.com

Barbara Sellers-Young

basyoung@yorku.cahttp://dance.finearts.yorku.ca/faculty/bio/barbara-sellers-young

Bill Bowers

Bill@Bill-Bowers.comwww.bill-bowers.com

Bob Feldman

mail@bobfeldman.netwww.bobfeldman.net

Beth Johnson

yoga.cndga@gmail.com

Bruce Lecure

BLecure@miami.edu

Brian LeTraunik

brian.letraunik@gmail.comwww.brianletraunik.weebly.com

Belinda Mello

bmello@alextechmotion.comwww.AlexTechMotion.com
www.Acting-Alexander.com

Bradford Oxnam

bradoxnam@yahoo.comwww.bradoxnam.com

Brianna Lucas Larson

briannaj.lucas@gmail.com

Conrad Alexandrowicz

conrada@uvic.cawww.wildexcursions.ca

CarlosAlexis Cruz

carloscruz@uncc.eduwww.pelutheatre.com

Cat Gleason

catzg65@gmail.com

Corrie Danieley

corriedanieley@gmail.comhttp://artscience.nku.edu/departments/theatre.html
http://corriedanieley.com/Home.html

Christopher Duval

c.duval@utah.edu

Chaya Gordon-Bland

Chaya.Gordon-Bland@usd.eduwww.usd.edu/fine-arts/theatre/chaya-gordon-bland.cfm
www.sdshakespearefestival.org

Catherine Madden

cathmadden@aol.comhttp://www.cathymadden.net/

Eli Sibley

eli.sibley@yahoo.comelisibley.com

Colum Morgan

cpmorgan1@gmail.com

Chelsea Pace

chelsea.pace@ndsu.eduwww.chelseapace.com

Cara Rawlings

crawlings@vt.edu

Connie Rotunda

rotundac@newpaltz.eduhttp://www.daughterofthewaves.com/wallis-knot/

Cynthia Kneen

cynthiakneen@gmail.comwww.cynthiakneen.com

Danette Baker

danette@danettemariebaker.comwww.danettemariebaker.com

David Barker

davidbarker@asu.eduwww.davidbarker.org

Dody DiSanto

dodydisanto@gmail.comwww.thisisthecenter.com

Joan Schirle

info@dellarte.comwww.dellarte.com

Denise Rinehart

deniserinehart@gmail.comwww.theatreamoeba.org
https://www.facebook.com/CJUTheatre

David Gaines

david_gaines@hotmail.comwww.davidgainesperformance.com
www.7x1samurai.com

Lee Ordeman

leeordeman@gmail.com

Drew Richardson

drew@dramaticfool.comhttp://www.DramaticFool.com
http://www.ThinkFoolishly.com

Deborah Robertson

drobertson2@niu.edu

Davis Robinson

drobinso@bowdoin.eduwww.beaujest.com
www.bowdoin.edu

David Taft

dtaft@cornish.edudavidtaft.com

Daniella Vinitski

daniella.vinitski@colorado.eduhttp://daniellavinitski.com/

Erika Berland

eberland@naropa.edubeaversberlandworkshops.com

Elizabeth Parks

eparks@austincollege.edu

Elizabeth Mozer

emozer@binghamton.edutheatreintheflesh.net
http://www2.binghamton.edu/theatre/faculty-and-staff/mozer.html

Enric Ortuno

enricortuo@gmail.comwww.enricortuno.com

Erin Schlabach

erinschlabach@gmail.com

Eric Kildow

eskildow@gmail.comhttp://www.eskildow.com

Eric van Baars

evanbaars@gmail.comwww.ericvanbaars.com

Erick Wolfe

erick@erickwolfe.comwww.erickwolfe.com

Frank Delaney

frank@franklyndelaney.comwww.franklyndelaney.com

Christopher Beaulieu

creativelyindie@gmail.comhttp://creativelyindependent.net

Maggie Anderson

maggie.anderson@temple.eduwww.maggieanderson.net

Gene Gibbons

ggibbons@interlog.com

Geneviève Nedder

gmnedder@comcast.nethttp://www.bodyfundamentals.com
http://www.changingthroughmovement.com

Margo Kopec

margo@goinspired.comwww.goinspired.com

Genesee Spridco

geneseespridco@gmail.comWww.imaginezensemblez.com

Holly Cate

hcate@muhlenberg.edu

Heather Harpham

hharpham@me.comwww.heatherharpham.com

James Stover

jamespaulstover@gmail.com

Jeff A.R. Jones

jarjones@nc.rr.com

Jason Bohon

jasonbohon@gmail.comwww.jasonbohon.com
www.splitknuckletheatre.org

Jeffrey Awada

jeffreyawada43@webster.edu

Joann Browning

jbrownin@udel.edu

Jill Carlson

carlsonj@ecu.edu

Jeff Casazza

casazzaj@ipfw.edu

Jessica Cerullo

cerullja@whitman.edumichaelchekhov.org

Judith Chaffee

judith@commedia-dell-arte.comcommedia-dell-arte.com
judithchaffee.com

Jeff Fazakerley

jeff.fazakerley@cui.edu23 Meadowgrass

Lisa Fay and Jeff Glassman Duo

jeffglassman0@gmail.comwww.lisafayandjeffglassmanduo.org

Jennifer Graham

jgraham@emich.edu

Jeffrey Lambdin

woole@mindspring.comwww.jefthemime.com
tomjefmime.com

Jeff McMahon

jeffmcm@earthlink.netwww.jeffmcmahonprojects.net
http://vimeo.com/jeffmcmahon

Jennifer Mizenko

jmizenko@olemiss.edujennifermizenko.com

Joe Herrera

veejoe7@yahoo.comwww.michaelchekhovstudioorlando.com

Joe M Hernandez

joemhernandez@me.comwww.joemhernandez.com

Janice Orlandi

j_orlandi@yahoo.comActorsMovementStudio.com

Jess Prichard

jessprichard@gmail.comwww.jessprichard.com

Julie Rada

julie.rada@utah.eduwww.julierada.com

Joan Schirle

joans@dellarte.comwww.dellarte.com

Jeff MIlls

jmproboscis@gmail.comwww.jmproboscis.com

Jeanine Thompson

thompson.105@osu.edu

Karim Muasher

karimmuasher@gmail.com21-29 41st Street
animalengine.com

Kurt Heinlein

KurtHeinlein@missouristate.eduhttp://theatreanddance.missouristate.edu/KurtHeinlein.aspx
http://theatreanddance.missouristate.edu/KurtHeinlein.aspx

Jonathan Cole

jcole@willamette.eduhttp://www.revengearts.com
http://www.wutheatre.com

Kevin Inouye

kevin@kevininouye.comwww.kevininouye.com
www.fightdesigner.com

Kim Jessor

kj292@nyu.eduwww.tisch.nyu.edu

Kari Margolis

Margolismethod@mac.comwww.margolismethod.org
www.mb-adaptors.org

Kate Meehan

katesmash@gmail.comwww.lafeniceaustin.org

Kali Quinn

kali_quinn@yahoo.comhttp://www.kaliquinn.com
http://www.dell-arte.org

Kendall Kiker

kwkiker@yhc.edu

Kelley Schoger

kelleyschoger@gmail.com

Leslie Bennett

leslieb@ku.edu

Luke Eddy

luke.eddy7@gmail.com

Lisa Fay

lisafay@fastmail.fmwww.lisafayandjeffglassmanduo.org

Laura Rikard

laurarikard@mac.comwww.laurarikard.com
www.laurarikardandassociates.com

Liz Stanton

lizbethnyc@gmail.comwww.lizstanton.com
givingvoiceproductions.com

Justine Moore-Luparello

justineluparello@gmail.comhttp://www.justinemoore.com/

Lynnae Lehfeldt

Lehfeld2@oakland.edu

Mairin Smit

mairin.smit@gmail.comwww.fivewinds.ca

Mandy Greenlee

mandy@mandygreenlee.com915 MAXWELL AVE

Marie Percy

marie.percy@uconn.eduvisualizingspaceharmony.com

Margaret Boersma

mboersma@rogers.comwww.margaretboersma.com

Matthew Bowdren

mbowdren@gmail.com

Matt Franta

matt@mattfranta.comwww.MattFranta.com

Marc Devine

marc.devine@gmail.commarcdevine.net

Monica Dionysiou

dionysioum@gmail.commonicadionysiou.com

Melinda Little

m_little@rogers.com

Meredith Dufton

meredith.dufton@tiscali.co.uk

Emily Davis

emily@messengertheatreco.orgfeldenkraisarts.com
messengertheatreco.org

Mark Hardiman

mark@mhardiman.com

Jessie Mills

millsj@wabash.edu109 S. Washington Street

Marianne Kubik

mmk4g@virginia.edu

Melissa Noble

mlknoble@hotmail.com

Michelle Milne

mmilne@gmail.com

Mark Monday

mmonday@kent.eduwww.greatlakesmichaelchekhovconsortium.com
www.markmonday.com

Michael Mueller

mjmueller3@gmail.comwww.mjmueller3.com

Maiya Murphy

maiyamurphy@hotmail.com

Matt Saltzberg

matt.saltzberg@gmail.comwww.mattsaltzberg.com

Malcolm Tulip

dmtulip@umich.edu

Matthew R. Wilson

WilsonMatthewR@gmail.commatthewrwilson.com
factionoffools.org

Nadine Mozon

nm15@txstate.eduwww.nadinemozon.com

Nick Erickson

nickwe@lsu.edutheatre.lsu.edu

Niamh Dowling

niamh.dowling@bruford.ac.uk

Nancy Kantra

nkantra@uarts.edu

Natasha Martina

Nkmartina@gmail.comhttps://www.facebook.com/GroundCoverTheatre?filter=2

Eleni Papaleonardos

elenipapaleonardos@gmail.comwww.avltheatre.com

Pam Johnson

johnson.pam1@gmail.com

Parke Fech

parkeafech@gmail.com5500 Wissahickon Ave

Penny Maas

penny.maas@tcu.edu

Eliza Ladd

elizalasa@gmail.comwww.elizaladd.com

Rebecca Frost Mayer

mayerrf@vcu.edu

Rebekah Lane

rlane@towson.eduww.rebekahlane.com

Alison Henderson

chicagohenderson@comcast.netwww.recklessensembletheatre.org

Ryan Mahannah

Ryan.Mahannah@yahoo.com100 Foxgate Ave APT 36F

C. Robin Marcotte

robinmarcotte@gmail.comwww.robinmarcotte.net

Rich Rand

richrand@purdue.eduwww.richrand.com

Rachael Swartz

rswartz08@gmail.comwww.rachaelswartz.com
https://www.ashland.edu/cas/faculty-staff/rachael-swartz

Rachelle Tsachor

rtsachor@uic.eduhttp://theatreandmusic.uic.edu/profiledetails/311/296

Robert Ruffin

ruffinrobert@gmail.com

Samantha Chester

sam@samanthachester.com.auwww.samanthachester.com.au

Sandi Carroll

slc58@psu.edu

Sarah Barker

sabarker@sc.edueasyalexander.com

Slade Billew

billewbs@sfasu.edu

Joan Bruemmer-Holden

jbruemmer@naropa.edu

Shannon Stowe

stowes@newschool.eduwww.shannonstowe.com
www.newdancetheatre.com

Sheila Kerrigan

kerrigan@mindspring.comwww.mimewhotalks.com
www.centerforartsintegration.org

Stephanie Prugh

stephanie.prugh@colorado.edu

Stefan Sittig

stefan.sittig@gmail.comwww.stefansittig.com
www.umuc.edu

Robyn Berg

professorrobynberg@gmail.comrobynberg.com

Tamala Bakkensen

tamalabakkensen@gmail.com

T. Anthony Marotta

NakedMasks@TAnthonyMarotta.comwww.tanthonymarotta.com

Terry Glaser

terry4thalia@pacbell.net

Zane Whitney

theatre.generalist10@gmail.comwww.tcftt.org
www.facebook.com/ZaneAWhitneyJr

Therese Crews

tcrews@clcillinois.edu

Tanya Kane-Parry

tkanepa@calstatela.eduhttp://www.calstatela.edu/academic/musictheatredance/
www.operadelespacio.org

Ted Morin

ttmnyc@me.com

Trent Blanton

tblanton@mac.comww.linkedin.com/in/trentblanton/
http://www.rider.edu/faculty/trent-blanton

Tracy Terstriep-Herber

tterstriep@gmail.com

Tom Truss

tomjtruss@gmail.com

Tom Vasiliades

tvasiliades@nyc.rr.comwww.atcpd.com

Ursula Neuerburg-Denzer

ursula.neuerburg-denzer@concordia.cawww.rasaboxes.org
www.neuerburg-denzer.net

David Weber

vidweber@gmail.comwww.davidrweber.com

Tory Matsos

tory.matsos@gmail.comwww.torymatsos.com
www.theinspiredperformer.com

Jeremiah Black

wellingtonblack@hotmail.com35 Westfield Drive

Wendy Salkind

wendy.salkind@gmail.comwww.wendysalkind.com
www.umbc.edu/theatre

Yarit Dor

yaritdor16@gmail.comwww.yarit-dor.com

Yo-El Cassell

ycassell@bu.edu

Email all members who specialize in Movement for the Actor


Bibliography for Movement for the Actor

Print Sources
  • Alberts, David. The Expressive Body: Physical Characterization for the Actor. NH: Heinemann, 1997. ISBN 0-435-07030-4 Movement and gestures, building a character, character interaction and movement for period plays.
  • Barba, Eugenio and Nicola Savarese. The Secret Art of the Performer. New York: Routledge, 1991.
  • Benedetti, Robert. The Actor at Work. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1990. Includes movement work.
  • Bloom, Katya and Rosa Shreeves. Moves: A Sourcebook of Ideas for Body Awareness and Creative Movement. London: Harwood Academic Publishers, 1998. ISBN 90-5702-133-1 Illustrated book of exercises, aimed at deepening awareness of the body and the self through the practice of movement and dance.
  • Camryn, Walter. An Analytical Study of Character Movement for Dancers, Singers, and Actors. New York: Dance Mart, 1959.
  • Carney, Kay. “The Plastique Exercises: One Route to Our True Natures,” ATA Theatre News, Vol. IX, no.1. Grotowski.
  • Chekhov, Michael. To the Actor. New York: Harper and Row, 1953. On the psychological gesture.
  • Dennis, Anne. The Articulate Body: the Physical Training of the Actor. New York: Drama Book Publishers, 1995. 0-89676-133-9 Rethinking the physical needs of the contemporary actor; looking at the actor’s physical training not as a series of skills, but as a skill in itself, specific to the actor.
  • Garner, Stanton B., Jr. Bodied Spaces: Phenomenology and Performance in Contemporary Drama. Cornell University Press, 1994. ISBN 0801482186
  • Huston, Hollis. The Actor’s Instrument: Body Theory on Stage. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 1992.
  • Izzo, Gary. Acting Interactive Theatre: A Handbook. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann, 2003. 0-435-07038-X "This practical guide from . . . Gary Izzo cuts to the quick of the fast-paced, on-the-spot improvisational nature of interactive theatre." (Heinemann blurb)
  • King, Nancy. Giving Form to Feeling. New York: Drama Book Specialists, 1975. 0- 10482-57-8
  • ________. A Movement Approach to Acting. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, Inc., 1981. 0-13-604637-1
  • ________. Theatre Movement: The Actor and His Space. New York: Drama Book Specialists, 1971.
  • Klein, Maxine. Time Space and Designs for Actors. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1975. Also includes acting improvisations.
  • Kline, Peter and Nancy Meadows. The Theatre Student: Physical Movement for the Theatre. New York: Richards Rosen Press, 1971.
  • Lessac, Arthur. Body Wisdom: The Use and Training of the Human Body. New York: Drama Book Specialists, 1978, 1982. Integrated body/voice approach for actors and non-actors, by a noted voice teacher.
  • Linklater, Kristin. “Voice and Body, Soul and Movement,” ATA Theatre News, Vol. IX, no. 7.
  • ________. “Animating the Actor’s Body,” American Theatre, 3(July-August 1986): 38- 39.
  • Norris, Lynn. “The Importance of Warm-ups to the Rehearsal Process,” ATA Theatre News, Vol. 15, no. 4.
  • Olsen, Mark. The Actor with a Thousand Faces. NY: Applause, 2000. ISBN 1-55783-306-0 A movement-based guidebook focusing on ensemble work. Includes establishing a common movement vocabulary, games, group dynamics, use of masks, and ritual theatre.
  • Pasolli, Robert. A Book on the Open Theatre. Indianapolis, IN: Bobbs-Merrill, 1976. Describes their physical approach. Includes many useful exercises and improvisations.
  • Penrod, James. Movement for the Performing Artist. Palo Alto, CA: Mayfield Publishing Co., 1974.
  • Pisk, Litz. The Actor and His Body. New York: Theatre Arts Books, 1976.
  • Rolfe, Bari. Actions Speak Louder. Berkeley, CA: Personabooks, 1992. 0-932456-07-3 Movement exercises for actor training.
  • ________. “Towards Speech in Every Limb,” Educational Theatre Journal, 25(March 1973): 112-119. Review of some dozen books on movement for actors.
  • Robinson, Davis Rider. The Physical Comedy Handbook. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann, 2003. 0-325-00114-6
  • Rose, Mark V. The Actor and His Double: Mime and Movement for the Theatre of Cruelty. Actor Training & Research Institute Press, 1986. ISBN 0961608706
  • Rubin, Lucille S., ed. Movement for the Actor. New York: Drama Book Specialists, 1980.
  • Sabatine, Jean. Movement Training for the Stage and Screen: The Organic Connection Between Mind, Spirit, and Body. New York: Back Stage Books, 1995. 0-8230- 7712-8
  • Sullivan, Claudia N. The Actor Moves. n. c.: McFarland and Company, Inc., 1990. 0- 89950-451-5
  • Tufnell, Miranda and Chris Crickmay. Body Space Image: Notes Towards Improvisation and Performance. London: Dance Books Ltd., 1993. ISBN 1-85273-041-2 Begins with movement and the individual experience, and then extends to include group work and the use of space, light, sound and objects, pointing towards performance.
  • Turner, Craig. “Contemporary Approaches to Movement Training for Actors in the U.S.” in Theatrical Movement: A Bibliographical Anthology, Bob Fleshman, ed. Metuchen, NJ: The Scarecrow Press, 1986.
  • Vened, Christopher. In Character: An Actor’s Workbook for Character Development. CT: Heinemann, 2000. ISBN 0325002088 Includes section on establishing character traits in the body.
  • White, Edwin C. and Margurite Battye. Acting and Stage Movement. New York: Arc Books, 1963. Part II is a textbook on movement.
  • Wilson, John M. A Natural Philosophy of Movement Styles for Theatre Performers. Ph.D. Dissertation, University of Wisconsin, 1973.
  • Withey, J. A. “Form Through Movement in the Theatre,” Players Magazine II. November 1964. Text to stage through movement.
  • Yakim, Moni with Muriel Broadman. Creating a Character: A Physical Approach to Acting. New York: Back Stage Books, 1990.
  • Young, Stark. “Movement in Acting,” in Glamour. New York: Scribner’s Sons, 1925.
  • Zaporah, Ruth. Action Theatre: The Improvisation of Presence. Berkeley, CA: North Atlantic Books, 1995. Exercises and metaphors geared toward the body’s awareness of the present moment.
Audio/Visual Sources
  • Mora, Dawn. Movement for the Actor. Performing Arts Instructional Video, n.d. Video. Call 1-800-828-0373.
Back to Top