Self Use



Various methodologies to improve one’s awareness of how one uses movement, breath, and voice in art and in life.

Upload your Media



Members specializing in Self Use:

Aaron Black

aaronblack1@gmail.com

Amanda MacDonald

abmacd53@gmail.com1931 N Campbell Ave #2S
www.AmandaBlairMacDonald.com

Adam Noble

nobledynamic@gmail.comhttp://www.uh.edu/class/theatre-and-dance/
http://www.uh.edu/class/theatre-and-dance/about/faculty/index.php

Barbara Sellers-Young

basyoung@yorku.cahttp://dance.finearts.yorku.ca/faculty/bio/barbara-sellers-young

Bruce Lecure

BLecure@miami.edu

Belinda Mello

bmello@alextechmotion.comwww.AlexTechMotion.com
www.Acting-Alexander.com

Corrie Danieley

corriedanieley@gmail.comhttp://artscience.nku.edu/departments/theatre.html
http://corriedanieley.com/Home.html

Christopher Duval

c.duval@utah.edu

Catherine Madden

cathmadden@aol.comhttp://www.cathymadden.net/

Eli Sibley

eli.sibley@yahoo.comelisibley.com

Colum Morgan

cpmorgan1@gmail.com

Chelsea Pace

chelsea.pace@ndsu.eduwww.chelseapace.com

Connie Rotunda

rotundac@newpaltz.eduhttp://www.daughterofthewaves.com/wallis-knot/

Cynthia Kneen

cynthiakneen@gmail.comwww.cynthiakneen.com

Joan Schirle

info@dellarte.comwww.dellarte.com

Lee Ordeman

leeordeman@gmail.com

Eileen Standley

eileen.standley@asu.edueileenstandley.com
eileenstandley2.com

Christopher Beaulieu

creativelyindie@gmail.comhttp://creativelyindependent.net

Jason Bohon

jasonbohon@gmail.comwww.jasonbohon.com
www.splitknuckletheatre.org

Joann Browning

jbrownin@udel.edu

Jess Prichard

jessprichard@gmail.comwww.jessprichard.com

Joan Schirle

joans@dellarte.comwww.dellarte.com

Kim Jessor

kj292@nyu.eduwww.tisch.nyu.edu

Kali Quinn

kali_quinn@yahoo.comhttp://www.kaliquinn.com
http://www.dell-arte.org

Luke Eddy

luke.eddy7@gmail.com

Emily Davis

emily@messengertheatreco.orgfeldenkraisarts.com
messengertheatreco.org

Melissa Noble

mlknoble@hotmail.com

Michelle Milne

mmilne@gmail.com

Nadine Mozon

nm15@txstate.eduwww.nadinemozon.com

Eliza Ladd

elizalasa@gmail.comwww.elizaladd.com

Rachelle Tsachor

rtsachor@uic.eduhttp://theatreandmusic.uic.edu/profiledetails/311/296

Robert Ruffin

ruffinrobert@gmail.com

Sarah Barker

sabarker@sc.edueasyalexander.com

Tamala Bakkensen

tamalabakkensen@gmail.com

Wendy Salkind

wendy.salkind@gmail.comwww.wendysalkind.com
www.umbc.edu/theatre

Email all members who specialize in Self Use


Bibliography for Self Use

Print Sources
  • Bertherat, Therese and Carol Bernstein. The Body Has Its Reasons: Self-Awareness Through Conscious Movement. Rochester, VT: Healing Arts Press, 1989. 0- 89281-298-2 A series of “anti-exercises” to develop range and freedom of movement, releasing constraints and reawakening dormant muscles.
  • Brooks, Charles V. W. Sensory Awareness: The Rediscovery of Experiencing. New York: The Viking Press, 1974. Based on the Esalen work of Charlotte Selver. Good body awareness exercises.
  • Campbell, Douglas G., M.D. “Posture, A Gesture Towards Life,” Physiotherapy Review, Vol. 15, no. 2, 1935.
  • Clark, Barbara. How to Live in Your Axis. Tempe, AZ: Clark Manuals, 1968.
  • ________. Let’s Enjoy Sitting, Standing, and Walking. Tempe AZ: Clark Manuals, 1963.
  • Clay, Jack. “Self-Use in Actor Training,” The Drama Review, 16(March 1972): 16-22.
  • Deutsch, Felix. “Analysis of Postural Behavior,” Psychoanalytic Quarterly, Vol. 16, 1947: 195-213.
  • Dowd, Irene. Taking Root to Fly. New York: Contact Collaborations, 1981.
  • Fenton, Jack Vinten. Choice of Habit. London: Macdonald & Evans, 1973.
  • Fetis, Rosemary. Ida Rolf Talks About Rolfing and Physical Reality. New York: Harper & Row, 1977.
  • Friedman, Philip and Gail Eisen. The Pilates Method of Physical and Mental Conditioning. Garden City, NY: Doubleday & Co., 1980. A strenuous conditioning method, abdominally centered. Hanna, Thomas. The Body of Life. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1980.
  • ________. Somatics. Reading, MA: Addison-Wesley Publishing Company, 1980.
  • Haxthausen, Margit and Rhea Leman. Body Sense. New York: Pantheon Books, 1987. Introduction by Alexander Lowen. Describes a Danish system of alignment, “afspaending,” Applies this to modern dance exercises.
  • Heller, Joseph and William A. Henkin. Bodywise. Los Angeles: Jeremy P. Tarcher, Inc., 1986. Outline of various approaches to bodywork. Description of Hellerwork, a variation of Rolfing. Connects areas of the body with strong images of their psychophysical function.
  • Kagan, Gerald. Your Body Works: A Guide to Health, Energy, and Balance. Berkeley, CA: Transformations Press, 1980.
  • Lessac, Arthur. Body Wisdom: the Use and Training of the Human Body. New York: Drama Book Specialists, 1978. Integrated body/voice approach for actors and non-actors, by a noted voice teacher.
  • Lewis, Howard R. and Dr. Harold S. Streitfeld. Growth Games. New York: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1970.
  • Myers, Martha and Margaret Pierpont and Diana Schnitt. “Body Systems,” in Theatrical Movement: A Bibliographical Anthology, Bob Fleshman, ed. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1986.
  • Olsen, Andrea with Caryn McHose. Bodystories: A Guide to Experiential Anatomy. Barrytown, NJ: Station Hill Press, Inc., 1991.
  • Rolf, Ida. Rolfing: Structural Integration. San Francisco: San Francisco Guild for Structural Integration, n. d.
  • ________. Rolfing: The Integration of Human Structures. New York: Harper & row, 1978.
  • ________. What in the World is Rolfing? Santa Monica, CA: Institute for Structural Integration, 1975.
  • Selver, Charlotte with V. W. Brooks. “Report on Work in Sensory Awareness and Total Functioning,” Explorations in Human Movement Potential. Springfield, IL: Charles C. Thomas, 1966.
  • Sweigard, Lulu. Human Movement Potential: Its Ideokinetic Facilitation. New York: Dodd, Mead & Co., 1974.
  • Todd, Mabel Elsworth. Early Writings. New York: Dance Horizons, 1973.
  • ________. The Hidden You. New York: Dance Horizons, 1953.
  • ________. The Thinking Body. New York: Dance Horizons, 1972. First published in 1937. A classic in self-use.
  • Trager, Milton with Cathy Hammond. Movement as a Way to Agelessness: A Guide to Trager Mentastics. Barrytown, NY: Station Hill Press, 1995. 0-88268-167-2
Back to Top