Stretching, Strength, and Relaxation



Various exercises for improving flexibility, strength, and release of excess tension in the body.

Upload your Media



Members specializing in Stretching, Strength, and Relaxation:

Aaron Black

aaronblack1@gmail.com

Amanda MacDonald

abmacd53@gmail.com1931 N Campbell Ave #2S
www.AmandaBlairMacDonald.com

Anne Brady

abrady@binghamton.edu

Allison Caw

allisoncaw@gmail.com

Anne James

anjames@exchange.fullerton.edu

Annmarie Kelly Davis

annmariedavis@comcast.net

Adam Noble

nobledynamic@gmail.comhttp://www.uh.edu/class/theatre-and-dance/
http://www.uh.edu/class/theatre-and-dance/about/faculty/index.php

Barbara Sellers-Young

basyoung@yorku.cahttp://dance.finearts.yorku.ca/faculty/bio/barbara-sellers-young

Bob Feldman

mail@bobfeldman.netwww.bobfeldman.net

Beth Johnson

yoga.cndga@gmail.com

Bruce Lecure

BLecure@miami.edu

Brian LeTraunik

brian.letraunik@gmail.comwww.brianletraunik.weebly.com

Conrad Alexandrowicz

conrada@uvic.cawww.wildexcursions.ca

CarlosAlexis Cruz

carloscruz@uncc.eduwww.pelutheatre.com

Corrie Danieley

corriedanieley@gmail.comhttp://artscience.nku.edu/departments/theatre.html
http://corriedanieley.com/Home.html

Colum Morgan

cpmorgan1@gmail.com

Chelsea Pace

chelsea.pace@ndsu.eduwww.chelseapace.com

Dody DiSanto

dodydisanto@gmail.comwww.thisisthecenter.com

Joan Schirle

info@dellarte.comwww.dellarte.com

Denise Rinehart

deniserinehart@gmail.comwww.theatreamoeba.org
https://www.facebook.com/CJUTheatre

Dana Legawiec

dlegawiec@comcast.netwww.ZigguratTheatre.org

Lee Ordeman

leeordeman@gmail.com

Deborah Robertson

drobertson2@niu.edu

Davis Robinson

drobinso@bowdoin.eduwww.beaujest.com
www.bowdoin.edu

Daniella Vinitski

daniella.vinitski@colorado.eduhttp://daniellavinitski.com/

Elizabeth Parks

eparks@austincollege.edu

Elizabeth Mozer

emozer@binghamton.edutheatreintheflesh.net
http://www2.binghamton.edu/theatre/faculty-and-staff/mozer.html

Eileen Standley

eileen.standley@asu.edueileenstandley.com
eileenstandley2.com

Eric van Baars

evanbaars@gmail.comwww.ericvanbaars.com

Frank Delaney

frank@franklyndelaney.comwww.franklyndelaney.com

Maggie Anderson

maggie.anderson@temple.eduwww.maggieanderson.net

Geneviève Nedder

gmnedder@comcast.nethttp://www.bodyfundamentals.com
http://www.changingthroughmovement.com

Jeffrey Awada

jeffreyawada43@webster.edu

Joann Browning

jbrownin@udel.edu

Jill Carlson

carlsonj@ecu.edu

Jeff Casazza

casazzaj@ipfw.edu

Joe Krienke

joekrienke@gmail.com

Jeff McMahon

jeffmcm@earthlink.netwww.jeffmcmahonprojects.net
http://vimeo.com/jeffmcmahon

Jess Prichard

jessprichard@gmail.comwww.jessprichard.com

Julie Rada

julie.rada@utah.eduwww.julierada.com

Jeff MIlls

jmproboscis@gmail.comwww.jmproboscis.com

Kurt Heinlein

KurtHeinlein@missouristate.eduhttp://theatreanddance.missouristate.edu/KurtHeinlein.aspx
http://theatreanddance.missouristate.edu/KurtHeinlein.aspx

Jonathan Cole

jcole@willamette.eduhttp://www.revengearts.com
http://www.wutheatre.com

Kari Margolis

Margolismethod@mac.comwww.margolismethod.org
www.mb-adaptors.org

Kate Meehan

katesmash@gmail.comwww.lafeniceaustin.org

Kali Quinn

kali_quinn@yahoo.comhttp://www.kaliquinn.com
http://www.dell-arte.org

Kelley Schoger

kelleyschoger@gmail.com

Luke Eddy

luke.eddy7@gmail.com

Les Rorick

jlr4pc@virginia.edu

Lisa Bohn

lisabohn@mac.com

Mairin Smit

mairin.smit@gmail.comwww.fivewinds.ca

Mandy Greenlee

mandy@mandygreenlee.com915 MAXWELL AVE

Marie Percy

marie.percy@uconn.eduvisualizingspaceharmony.com

Matt Franta

matt@mattfranta.comwww.MattFranta.com

Meredith Dufton

meredith.dufton@tiscali.co.uk

Emily Davis

emily@messengertheatreco.orgfeldenkraisarts.com
messengertheatreco.org

micaela miranda

micaela@thefreedomtheatre.orgwww.thefreedomtheatre.org
www.creationunderoccupation.blogspot.com

Melissa Noble

mlknoble@hotmail.com

Michael Mueller

mjmueller3@gmail.comwww.mjmueller3.com

Matthew R. Wilson

WilsonMatthewR@gmail.commatthewrwilson.com
factionoffools.org

Nick Erickson

nickwe@lsu.edutheatre.lsu.edu

Nancy Kantra

nkantra@uarts.edu

Natasha Martina

Nkmartina@gmail.comhttps://www.facebook.com/GroundCoverTheatre?filter=2

Pam Johnson

johnson.pam1@gmail.com

Parke Fech

parkeafech@gmail.com5500 Wissahickon Ave

Penny Maas

penny.maas@tcu.edu

Eliza Ladd

elizalasa@gmail.comwww.elizaladd.com

Rebecca Frost Mayer

mayerrf@vcu.edu

Alison Henderson

chicagohenderson@comcast.netwww.recklessensembletheatre.org

C. Robin Marcotte

robinmarcotte@gmail.comwww.robinmarcotte.net

Rich Rand

richrand@purdue.eduwww.richrand.com

Rachael Swartz

rswartz08@gmail.comwww.rachaelswartz.com

Rachelle Tsachor

rtsachor@uic.eduhttp://theatreandmusic.uic.edu/profiledetails/311/296

Sandi Carroll

slc58@psu.edu

Shannon Stowe

stowes@newschool.eduwww.shannonstowe.com
www.newdancetheatre.com

Stephanie Prugh

stephanie.prugh@colorado.edu

Stefan Sittig

stefan.sittig@gmail.comwww.stefansittig.com
www.umuc.edu

Robyn Berg

professorrobynberg@gmail.comrobynberg.com

Tamala Bakkensen

tamalabakkensen@gmail.com

Therese Crews

tcrews@clcillinois.edu

Tanya Kane-Parry

tkanepa@calstatela.eduhttp://www.calstatela.edu/academic/musictheatredance/
www.operadelespacio.org

Ted Morin

ttmnyc@me.com

Ursula Neuerburg-Denzer

ursula.neuerburg-denzer@concordia.cawww.rasaboxes.org
www.neuerburg-denzer.net

Jeremiah Black

wellingtonblack@hotmail.com35 Westfield Drive

Wesley Broulik

wesleybroulik@gmail.comwww.wesleybroulik.net

Yo-El Cassell

ycassell@bu.edu

Email all members who specialize in Stretching, Strength, and Relaxation


Bibliography for Stretching, Strength, and Relaxation

Print Sources
  • Alter, Judy. Stretch & Strengthen: A Safe, Comprehensive Exercise Program to Balance Your Muscle Strength with Lifelong Flexibility. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1986. 0-395-40722-2 Exercises with anatomical sketches and description, and discussions of correct exercise techniques. Systematic, thorough, easy to read.
  • Anderson, Bob. Stretching. Bolinas, CA: Shelter Publications, 1980. A Ph.D. in exercise physiology describes correct stretching exercises.
  • Benson, Herbert, M.D. The Relaxation Response. n. c.: Outlet Books, 1993.
  • Black, Sara. The Supple Body: The Way to Fitness, Strength, and Flexibility. NY: Simon & Schuster Macmillan Company, 1995. ISBN 0028604415 Simple stretching exercises drawn from a variety of Eastern and Western disciplines, including yoga, t’ai chi, and sports medicine. B & W photos on each page, fully indexed and with a recommended reading list.
  • Blumenfeld, Larry, ed. The Big Book of Relaxation. n. c.: The Relaxation Company, 1994.
  • Carrington, Patricia. Freedom in Meditation. Garden City, NY: Anchor, 1977.
  • Davis, Martha and Elizabeth Robbins Eshelman and Matthew McKay. The Relaxation & Stress Reduction Workbook, 4th ed. Oakland, CA: New Harbinger Publications, Inc., 1995. 1-879237-83-0
  • Downing, George. The Massage Book. New York: Random House, 1972. 0-294- 70770-2
  • Drury, Nevill, ed. The Bodywork Book. San Leandro, CA: Prism Alpha, 1984. 0- 907061-67-2 Essays on massage, Alexander, Trager, yoga, etc.
  • Folan, Lilas M. Lilas Yoga and You. New York: Bantam Books, 1972.
  • Gallagher, Sean P., et al. The Pilates Method of Body Conditioning: An Introduction to the Core Exercises. Bainbridge Books, 1999. ISBN 1891696084 An exercise program called Contrology, a low-impact series of exercises designed to maximize abdominal strength while toning and increasing flexibility in the rest of the body. Especially useful for many people for relieving chronic back and joint pain. Co-written by Romana Kryzanowska, the last living disciple of Joseph Pilates. With more than 300 step-by-step photos of 70 exercises.
  • Goleman, D. and T. Bennet-Goleman. The Relaxed Body Book. New York: Doubleday, 1986.
  • Gunther, Bernard. Sense Relaxation Below Your Mind. New York: Collier Books, 1968.
  • Haxthausen, Margit and Rhea Leman. Body Sense: Exercise for Relaxation. New York: Pantheon Books, 1987. 0-394-74917-0
  • Hendricks, Gay and Thomas B. Roberts. The Second Centering Book. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1977.
  • Hendricks, Gay and Russel Wills. The Centering Book. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1975.
  • Hessel, Sidi. The Articulate Body. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 1978. 0-312-05483-1
  • Hittleman, Richard. Richard Hittleman’s Yoga: 28 Day Exercise Plan. New York: Bantam Books, 1969. 0-553-27748-0 Basic yoga positions.
  • Iyengar, B. K. S. Light on Yoga. New York: Schocken Books, 1976. 0-8052-0610-8
  • Jacobson, Edmund. You Must Relax. 5th ed. New York: McGraw Hill Book Co., 1970. Jacobson created progressive relaxation; this explains his concepts. Interesting to know where many actor-relaxation techniques started.
  • Johnston, William. Silent Music: The Science of Meditation. New York: Harper & row, 1974.
  • Juhan, Deanne. Job’s Body, A Handbook for Bodywork. Barrytown, NY: Station Hill Press, 1987.
  • LeShan, Lawrence. How to Meditate: A Guide to Self—Discovery. Boston: Little Brown, 1974. 0-553-20463-7
  • Martins, Peter. New York City Ballet Workout: 50 Stretches and Exercises Anyone Can Do for a Strong, Graceful and Sculpted Body. William Morrow & Co., 1997. ISBN 0688152023 Comprehensive, holistic approach to the body; covers flexibility and endurance. More than 300 instructional photos.
  • Mason. L. John. Guide to Stress Reduction. Berkeley, CA: Celestial Arts, 1985. Describes methods of stress reduction: progressive and autogenic relaxation, visualization, meditation, biofeedback.
  • Maxwell-Hudson, Clare. The Complete Book of Massage. New York: Random House, 1988. 0-394-75975-3
  • Mitchell, Laura. Simple Relaxation. London: John Murray, 1977.
  • Namikoshi, Toru. Shiatsu + Stretching. New York: Japan Publications, 1985.
  • Robinson, Lynne and Helge Fisher. The Mind Body Workout, With Pilates and The Alexander Technique, with over 30 new Pilates Exercises. London: Pan Books/Macmillan Publishers Ltd., 1998. ISBN 0-330-36946 The first book of its kind to combine The Alexander Technique and Pilates Method. Workbook style, fully illustrated.
  • Robinson, Lynne, et al. Body Control: Using Techniques Developed by Joseph H. Pilates. Trans-Atlantic Publications, Inc., 1998. ISBN 1891696009 40 Exercises to relieve stress, lengthen the body, improve flexibility, body strength, joint mobility, coordination and balance.
  • Rosa, Karl Robert. You and Autogenic Training: The Revolutionary Way to Relaxation and Inner Peace. New York: E. P. Dutton and Company, 1976.
  • Siler, Brooke. The Pilates Body: The Ultimate At-Home Guide to Strengthening, Lengthening, and Toning Your Body –Without Machines. NY: Broadway Books, 2000. ISBN 0-7679-0396 Clear photos and illustrations of a number of exercises.
  • Solveborn, Sven-A, M.D. The Book About Stretching. New York: Japan Publications, Inc., 1985.
  • Steinberecher, Edwin. The Inner Guide to Meditation. Santa Fe, NM: Blue Feather Press, 1978.
  • Sutcliffe, Jenny. The Complete Book of Relaxation Techniques. PA: A People’s Medical Society Book, 1991. ISBN 1-882606-08-6 Brief descriptions of over 30 techniques, among them chakras, music therapy, self-hypnosis, and Alexander.
  • Tobias, Maxine and Mary Stewart. Stretch & Relax: A day by day workout and relaxation programme. London: Dorling Kindersley Publishers Ltd., 1997 ISBN 0-86318-115-5 A twenty minute per day fitness program; its exercises are designed to promote suppleness, stamina and strength, tailored to suit all ages, physiques and levels of fitness.
  • Vishnudevananda, Swami. The Complete Illustrated Book of Yoga. New York: Julian Press, 1972.
  • Walker, C. Eugene. Learn to Relax: 13 Ways to Reduce Tension. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1975. 0-13-527556-3
  • West, Ouida. The Magic of Massage. New York: Hastings House, 1986.
  • Wharton, Jim and Phil. The Whartons’ Strength Book. Times Books, 1999. ISBN 0-8129-2929-2
  • Winsor, Mari with Mark Laska. The Pilates Powerhouse: The Perfect Method of Body Conditioning for Strength, Flexibility, and the Shape You Have Always Wanted in Less Than an Hour a Day. MA: Perseus Books, 1999. ISBN 0-7382-0228-2 Includes a section on injuries and injury prevention.
Audio/Visual Sources
  • Harvey, John. R. Total Relaxation: Healing Practices for Body, Mind & Spirit. NY: Kodansha International, 1998. ISBN 1-56836-224-2 Includes a CD with step by step relaxation techniques. Chapters on muscular tension, tension within the autonomic nervous system, and mental and spiritual relaxation.
  • Physical Mind Institute, Physcial Mind Workout. Santa Fe, NM. Two videos (Introduction to Matwork and Intermediate Matwork). Using Pilates, a toning and conditioning system for stretching, strengthening and realigning joints and muscles. For information on ordering, call (505)988-1990.
Back to Top